DESIGN.md: what it is and where to find good examples

DESIGN.md is a YAML-and-Markdown design file described in Google's design.md repository. The token schema comment calls the current version alpha, and the LICENSE file is Apache 2.0. This page lists cataloged tools that mention the format. Following that spec is not stated unless a record says so. We did not lint a file.

Last checked 2026-10-27.

Format facts were read from the Google repository README and LICENSE on 2026-10-27. Library facts come from catalog records. We did not run the CLI.

Quick picks

What DESIGN.md is

Format facts in this section were read from Google's DESIGN.md repository on 2026-10-27. Library facts come from catalog records. This directory did not run the CLI or lint a file.

The README describes DESIGN.md as YAML tokens plus Markdown prose. The token schema comment says the current version is alpha, and the Status section says the format is at version alpha. The LICENSE file begins with Apache License Version 2.0.

Token types named in the README are Color, Dimension, Token Reference, and Typography. Sections may be omitted. Sections that are present must follow this order: Overview (alias Brand and Style), Colors, Typography, Layout (alias Layout and Spacing), Elevation and Depth (alias Elevation), Shapes, Components, and Do's and Don'ts.

The README documents npx @google/design.md lint DESIGN.md, a diff command, and export formats json-tailwind, css-tailwind, tailwind, and dtcg. Those commands were not run.

DESIGN.md is not the same file as a project README. This site does not claim it is the same as CLAUDE.md or AGENTS.md, because those files were not compared line by line. It is also not a standard this catalog says every agent vendor has adopted.

An original example for a fictional brand

Northwind Pantry is fictional. This fragment shows the kind of sections the spec names. It is not a vendor file, and it was not linted.

## Overview
Northwind Pantry is a mail-order pantry. The page should feel like a printed label.

## Colors
Ink #1C1915 for the name. Jar green #2F6B4F for the one action. Flour #F6F1E6 for the page.

## Typography
A serif for the name. A plain sans for the ingredients. Prices stay in sentence case.

## Do's and Don'ts
Do show the product name before the offer. Don't borrow another brand's label or claims.

Follows Google's spec? Not stated. The column on every catalog row says the same thing, because none of these records says the file matches that spec.

Examples in the catalog

getdesign.md and getdesign.ai are separate products.

NameWhat the record says it helps withFree access on the recordMCPAgent skillClients namedPrice summaryFollows Google's spec?Record checked
getdesign.mdAgent-readable design direction; Comparing design systems; Reusable interface contextNot establishedNot establishedNot establishedNot establishedCurrent amounts, billing terms and plan entitlements were not established in the published review. Check the official source before choosing a plan. As listed on 2026-10-21.Not stated2026-10-21
getdesign.aiGiving an agent visual direction; Documenting typography and spacing; Keeping an interface visually consistentFree access documentedNot establishedNot establishedNot establishedThe reviewed page displays $4.99/month billed yearly for an individual/freelancer plan. Check seat quantity and plan access before purchase. As listed on 2026-10-21.Not stated2026-10-21
Devault DESIGN.mdDESIGN.md context; Design tokens; Reference-led UI directionFree access documenteddocumented; free access not includedNot establishedClaude, Cursor, FigmaDESIGN.md library free without account/card; wider library free pool and Pro $108/year; MCP Pro-only. As listed on 2026-10-21.Not stated2026-10-21
Inspo MCPAgent-led web research; DESIGN.md references; Component directionFree access documenteddocumented; free access documentedNot establishedClaude, Cursor, Codex, VS Code, Windsurf, ZedFree hosted MCP, noauth, no tiers/paywall; open-source MIT. As listed on 2026-10-21.Not stated2026-10-21
CuratedLanding-page research; Section briefs; Design-system contextFree access documenteddocumented; free access not includeddocumented; free access documentedClaude, Cursor, Codex, OpenCodeFree browsing and limited samples; Pro $9/month. MCP page also advertises $84/year. As listed on 2026-10-21.Not stated2026-10-21
KatagamiDesign language selection; Image style briefs; Agent contextNot establisheddocumented; free-access scope not establishedNot establishedClaude, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor, Grok, PerplexityPublic library; paid pricing not established. As listed on 2026-10-21.Not stated2026-10-21

A similar file that is not DESIGN.md

UI UX Pro Max writes MASTER.md, and the record says that file is not a single published design system. See the Impeccable skill comparison.

Records

getdesign.md

Explore Markdown design references that describe the visual language of real websites.

Use the files as a design starting point and adapt them to your own product. This library is distinct from getdesign.ai.

Pricing summary, as listed on 2026-10-21. Scope: not_established. Current amounts, billing terms and plan entitlements were not established in the published review. Check the official source before choosing a plan.

No plan rows on the record.

  • markdown: documented; free-access scope not established

Clients named on the record: Not established.

  • Markdown / agent context: Check the vendor for account, plan, permissions and usage limits.

Resource page · Official source · Pricing source

getdesign.ai

Bring a website's design language into your AI workflow through a readable DESIGN.md reference.

Use the reference to explain design decisions rather than reproduce another brand's copy, logos, or product identity. This is a separate product from getdesign.md.

Pricing summary, as listed on 2026-10-21. Scope: resource. The reviewed page displays $4.99/month billed yearly for an individual/freelancer plan. Check seat quantity and plan access before purchase.

Individual access: $4.99/month equivalent. Billed yearly.

  • markdown: documented; free-access scope not established

Clients named on the record: Not established.

  • Markdown / agent context: Check the vendor for account, plan, permissions and usage limits.

Resource page · Official source · Pricing source

Devault DESIGN.md

Choose an extracted design language and export structured context for your build.

The free design-context library and full product MCP have different access rules.

Pricing summary, as listed on 2026-10-21. Scope: resource. DESIGN.md library free without account/card; wider library free pool and Pro $108/year; MCP Pro-only.

DESIGN.md: $0. free. Free: $0. free. Pro annual: $108. yearly.

  • mcp: documented; free access not included
  • figmaPlugin: documented; free access documented
  • markdown: documented; free access documented

Clients named on the record: Claude, Cursor, Figma.

  • The free design-context library and full product MCP have different access rules.
  • MCP: Pro; source says Claude Code/Cursor/any AI client
  • Markdown / agent context: DESIGN.md library free noauth
  • Devault for Figma: Free plan plugin limited to free pool; full collection requires Pro. Plugin linked from official site.

Resource page · Official source · Pricing source

Inspo MCP

Give a coding agent website captures, reference components and extracted design context.

Follow the installation documentation; native access has not been authenticated here.

Pricing summary, as listed on 2026-10-21. Scope: resource. Free hosted MCP, noauth, no tiers/paywall; open-source MIT.

Free: $0. free.

  • mcp: documented; free access documented
  • markdown: documented; free access documented

Clients named on the record: Claude, Cursor, Codex, VS Code, Windsurf, Zed.

  • Follow the installation documentation; native access has not been authenticated here.
  • MCP: Hosted noauth remote MCP, per-IP rate limits
  • Markdown / agent context: DESIGN.md per site

Resource page · Official source · Pricing source

Curated

Turn website and section references into a design direction your coding agent can follow.

Full agent access and deeper research are separate from free browsing.

Pricing summary, as listed on 2026-10-21. Scope: resource. Free browsing and limited samples; Pro $9/month. MCP page also advertises $84/year.

Free: $0. free. Pro: $9. monthly. Pro annual: $84. yearly.

  • mcp: documented; free access not included
  • api: documented; free access not included
  • markdown: documented; free access documented
  • skills: documented; free access documented

Clients named on the record: Claude, Cursor, Codex, OpenCode.

  • Full agent access and deeper research are separate from free browsing.
  • MCP: Pro subscription and OAuth sign-in or bearer key
  • API: Pro subscription and bearer key
  • Markdown / agent context: Short version free; full DESIGN.md Pro
  • Curated research skill: Skill instructions are public; library MCP/API tools require Pro.

Resource page · Official source · Pricing source

Katagami

Explore reusable design languages, art styles and writing references for creative agents.

A style reference does not establish permission to reuse its example assets.

Pricing summary, as listed on 2026-10-21. Scope: resource. Public library; paid pricing not established.

No plan rows on the record.

  • mcp: documented; free-access scope not established
  • markdown: documented; free-access scope not established

Clients named on the record: Claude, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor, Grok, Perplexity.

  • A style reference does not establish permission to reuse its example assets.
  • MCP: Remote https://katagami.ai/mcp plus Google sign-in
  • Markdown / agent context: Check the vendor for account, plan, permissions and usage limits. Connection not authenticated here.

Resource page · Official source · Pricing source

FAQ

What is a DESIGN.md file?

It is a plain-text design description for coding agents. The Google repository README, read on 2026-10-27, says it pairs YAML tokens with Markdown prose. The version comment says alpha. The LICENSE file begins with Apache License Version 2.0.

Who created the DESIGN.md format?

The spec this page cites is Google's DESIGN.md repository. There is no catalog entry for that repository. This page does not call the format a standard that agent vendors have adopted.

What should a DESIGN.md file include?

The README says sections that are present must follow Overview, Colors, Typography, Layout, Elevation and Depth, Shapes, Components, and Do's and Don'ts. Sections may be omitted. Token types named there are Color, Dimension, Token Reference, and Typography.

How do I use DESIGN.md with Claude Code or Cursor?

Put the file where your agent can read it, then check the client against the library record. Inspo MCP names Claude, Cursor, and Codex. Curated names Claude, Cursor, Codex, and OpenCode. A file does not by itself prove the agent will follow it.

Where can I find DESIGN.md examples for real brands?

Catalog records that mention the format are getdesign.md, getdesign.ai, Devault DESIGN.md, Inspo MCP, Curated, and Katagami. getdesign.md pricing is not established. Devault lists a count of design systems on a free plan. Whether those files follow the Google spec is not stated.

Is DESIGN.md the same as CLAUDE.md or AGENTS.md?

This page does not say they are the same. DESIGN.md, as the Google README describes it, is a design-system file. A project instruction file has a different job. Compare the files you actually use.

How do I check whether my DESIGN.md file is valid?

The README documents a lint command, a diff command, and export formats. This directory did not run them. A passing lint, if you run one, is the tool's own check. It is not a promise of a better design.

Related on this site